This year’s award-winning airline alliance is Star Alliance, the third year in a row it received the award, with a total of nine since 2005 when the Skytrax category first came into existence. Oneworld came in second place, and SkyTeam came in third.

One of the biggest changes the alliance has seen is the development of the Digital Services Platform (DSP), allowing passengers flying on one of the partner airlines to have better digital and mobile resources. A great example of the DSP service is the ability for United Airline passenger to reserve a seat in advance on Singapore Airlines, whereas Lufthansa allows passengers to track their luggage on other partner airlines.

Out of 28 airlines that are part of the Star Alliance, 17 of them were awarded various Skytrax awards on both a regional and an individual level, totaling 49 awards. Singapore Airlines was named the best airline in the world, whereas Lufthansa, All Nippon Airways, Thai Airways, and EVA Air all part of the Alliance, ranked in the top 10.

The CEO of Skytrax, Edward Plaisted, mentioned that “Star Alliance can be very proud of its continued popularity and support amongst its frequent flyer members. The flagship lounge in Los Angeles continues to be a favorite amongst survey respondents”.

Star Alliance was created in 1997, and after more than two decades, passengers are able to fly to 193 countries on 28 difference airlines, with a daily flight number of over 18,800.

Star Alliance includes the following member airlines in alphabetical order:

• Adria Airways
• Aegean Airlines
• Air Canada
• Air China
• Air India
• Air New Zealand
• Asiana Airlines
• Austrian Airlines
• Avianca
• Avianca Brasil
• Brussels Airlines
• Copa Airlines
• Croatia Airlines
• EgyptAir
• Ethiopian Airlines
• EVA Air
• LOT Polish Airlines
• Lufthansa
• Shenzen Airlines
• Singapore Airlines
• South African Airways
• Swiss International
• TAP Portugal
• Thai Airways International
• Turkish Airlines
• United